Cagayan, Isabela, Aurora under Signal  No. 3

Typhoon “Ompong” maintained its strength as it barreled closer to Northern Luzon, the weather bureau said Friday.

Three provinces are now under typhoon signal no. 3 — Isabela; Northern Aurora, and Cagayan.

Signal no.2 was raised over Batanes, Babuyan group of Islands, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Apayao, Abra, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Ifugao, La Union, Benguet, Nueva Ecija, Aurora, Tarlac, and Northern Zambales; and signal no.1 in Pampanga,Bataan, Zambales, Bulacan, Rizal, Cavite, Metro Manila, Batangas, Laguna, Quezon, Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Masbate, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Albay Sorsogon, Luban Island, Northern Oriental Mindoro, Masbate, Marinduque, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes Albay, Sorsogon, Burios and Ticao Island, and Northern Samar.

“Ompong” has a 900-kilometer diameter, hence it is affecting 39 provinces including Metro Manila. The typhoon had cut off electricity in some towns in Cagayan.

Typhoon “Ompong” was last spotted 585 km East of Infanta, Quezon. It had maximum sustained winds of 205 kilometer per hour (kp/h) near the center and gustiness of up to 225 kp/h. JOVE MOYA

The post Cagayan, Isabela, Aurora under Signal  No. 3 appeared first on The Manila Times Online.