19 municipalities, cities tagged as election hotspots

Credit to Author: The Manila Times| Date: Mon, 14 Jan 2019 06:41:42 +0000

THE Philippine National Police (PNP) on Monday initially identified 19 municipalities and cities in Luzon and Mindanao as election hotspots for monitoring during the election period, its Chief Oscar Albayalde said.

They are:

In Luzon:

La Union
1. Sudipen
2. Balaoan

1. Jones

1. Lemery

1. Balud
2. Dimasalang

1. Daraga

Oriental Mindoro
1. Roxas

In Mindanao:

1. Mamasapano
2. Sharrif Aguak
3. Shariff Saydona Mustapha
4. Dati Unsai

1. Hajji Muhammad Ajul
2. Lantaoan
3. Tipo-Tipo

Misamis Oriental
1. Pagadian
2. Cagayan de Oro City

Lanao del Sur
1. Sultan Dumalongdong
2. Marawi City

The town of Supiden became a hotspot after its mayor, Alexander Buquing and his two bodyguards, were killed in an ambush in October 2018.

Daraga mayor Carlwyn Baldo has been tagged as the alleged mastermind behind the death of AKO Bicol Rep. Rodel Batocabe on December 22, 2018. Batocabe was supposed to run against Baldo for the mayoralty in Daraga.

Police arrested one of two gunmen who killed Batocabe and placed six other suspects were under their custody.

As of posting time, the PNP has not identified any election hotspot in the Visayas.

Albayalde said a city or municipality may be considered an election hotspot if there is heated political rivalry, a history of violence during election period, or the presence of insurgents and other threat groups. ROY NARRA


The post 19 municipalities, cities tagged as election hotspots appeared first on The Manila Times Online.