How did bets in Senate Magic 12 do in their hometowns?

Credit to Author: Alexander Magno| Date: Wed, 15 May 2019 16:10:21 +0000

MANILA, Philippines — The partial unofficial tally from the Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV) transparency server indicated the ranks of top senatorial bets, but how did these candidates perform in their hometown?

As of this writing, seven senatorial aspirants who made it to the top 20 also ranked the highest in their respective hometowns, based on the PPCRV partial unofficial tally.

Re-electionist Sen. Cynthia Villar got 156,589 votes in Las Piñas, while former presidential aide Christopher “Bong” Go ranked first in Davao City with 737,329 votes, followed by former Bureau of Corrections chief Ronald “Bato” Dela Rosa with 726,537 votes.

Meanwhile, former Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano topped the senatorial slate in Taguig with 214,575 votes.


Sen. Sonny Angara got 78,369 votes in Aurora; Lito Lapid got 737,885 in Pampanga; and Imee Marcos got 291,523 votes from Ilocos Norte so far.

One of the two opposition candidates in the top 20, Mar Roxas, also clinched the leading spot in the senatorial race in Capiz, his home province, with 190,481 votes.

The bailiwicks of some candidates, however, were not able to deliver enough votes for them to lead the pack.

Nevertheless, the hometowns of some candidates were still able to place them in the so-called “Magic 12.”

Re-electionist Sen. JV Ejercito landed on the third spot in San Juan with 32,851 votes, while his brother, former Sen. Jinggoy Estrada, has 20,858 so far, putting him in the 13th spot.

Re-electionist Sen. Bam Aquino, another opposition bet, ranked fourth in Tarlac with 354,217 votes.

Two candidates from Cavite failed to top the senatorial race there: Francis Tolentino came in at third in Cavite with 754,322 votes and Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. was eighth with 578,867 votes.

In Maguindanao, Rep. Zajid “Dong” Mangudadatu settled for second place with 297,257 votes so far, with Go taking the top spot there with 315,422 votes.

Former Sen. Serge Osmeña placed ninth in Cebu with 866,857 votes, Dr. Willie Ong got 866,857 votes in Metro Manila, which placed him in 14th place, outside the winning Magic 12.

Meanwhile, Jiggy Manicad was way outside the Magic 12 in the 27th place with 31,919 votes in Camarines Norte, where he was born.

(Editor: Alexander T. Magno)

See the bigger picture with the Inquirer’s live in-depth coverage of the election here