Paolo Duterte, Legarda lead deputy speakers’ oath-taking, new House members take key posts

Credit to Author: GLEE JALEA| Date: Tue, 23 Jul 2019 14:05:30 +0000

THE first batch of newly-elected deputy speakers, including Davao City Rep. Paolo Duterte and Antique Rep. Loren Legarda, took their oath at the House of Representatives on Tuesday.

Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano administered the oath to a total of 12 deputy speakers in the plenary, a day after their appointments.

Aside from Duterte and Legarda, Ferdinand Hernandez of South Cotabato, Evelina Escudero of Sorsogon, Conrad Estrella 3rd of Abono Partylist, Propspero Pichay Jr. of Surigao del Sur, Roberto Puno of Antipolo City, Eduardo Villanueva of Citizens Battle Against Corruption (Cibac) Partylist, Aurelio Gonzales Jr. of Pampanga, Johnny Pimentel of Surigao del Sur, and Luis Raymund Villafuerte of Camarines Sur also took their oaths.

Rep. Raneo Abu of Batangas was appointed as the 13th deputy speaker on Tuesday.

Earlier in the day Manila Rep. Bienvenido Abante was formally elected as the House minority leader.

San Juan Rep. Ronaldo Zamora was appointed head of House contingent to the Commission on Appointments.

In standing committees, five were appointed deputy majority floor leaders: Pampanga Rep. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo, the son of former speaker Gloria Arroyo; Batangas Rep. Lianda Bolilia; Manila Rep. Cristal Bagatsing; Pampanga Rep. Juan Pablo Bondoc; and Pangasinan Rep. Christopher de Venecia.

The children of former majority and minority leaders Rodolfo Fariñas and Danilo Suarez, Ria Fariñas of Ilocos Norte and David “Jayjay” Suarez of Quezon, landed the assistant majority leadership together with Las Piñas Rep. Camille Villar, daughter of Sen. Cynthia Villar and former senator Manny Villar.

Iloilo Rep. Janette Garin was named senior deputy minority leader while Jose Christopher “Kit” Belmonte was deputy minority leader.

Meanwhile, 902 House bills are up for first reading while 29 resolutions have been referred to their corresponding committees.

As “partner” of the administration, the lower chamber vowed to fulfill the priority measures under the legislative agenda of President Rodrigo Duterte which he cited in his third and fourth State of the Nation Addresses (SONAs).


The post Paolo Duterte, Legarda lead deputy speakers’ oath-taking, new House members take key posts appeared first on The Manila Times Online.