Locked down areas in Batangas because of Taal eruption rise to 14 

Credit to Author: The Manila Times| Date: Fri, 17 Jan 2020 09:15:47 +0000

LOCKED down areas in Batangas have increased to 14 from four as Alert Level 4 remains over Taal volcano, local and disaster officials said on Friday.

They are Talisay, Agoncillo, San Nicolas, Laurel, Alitagtag, Balete, Taal, Malvar, Cuenca, Sta. Teresita, Lemery, portions of Mataas na Kahoy, portions of Lipa City and portions of Tanauan, according to Lito Castro, head of the Batangas provincial disaster risk reduction and management office, in an interview over dzMM radio.

Castro said these areas were within the 14-kilometer radius danger zone.

Residents in these areas were evacuated to safety, with some moving to Laguna, Cavite, Quezon and Mindoro.

Castro said evacuees outside of Batangas will also be sent food and non-food items.

The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) will be assigning camp managers to supervise all designated evacuation centers while the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) will meet with response clusters.

In a situational report as of Friday afternoon, the NDRRMC recorded 22,472 families or 96,061 persons affected by the eruption. Of the number, 16,174 families or 70,413 persons are either staying inside 300 evacuation centers or with relatives.

The cost of damage to agriculture and livestock in Batangas and Cavite is estimated at P74.5 million.

Areas under a state of calamity are Batangas, Cavite and Tagaytay City.

The NDRRMC is under “red alert” or on a 24-hour watch. DEMPSEY REYES