Brocka’s battles

By Ronald Constantino

BIG AND SMALL – The Mike de Leon-Atom Araullo word war on social media brings to mind the many battles (big and small) of Lino Brocka.

Let’s start with his feuds involving his very own actors and friends.

“I’ll never work with her again,” he exploded time and again – her referring to Hilda Koronel. No one took the National Artist and Magsaysay Awardee seriously. The next time Brocka needed a fine actress he’d order: “Tawagan mo nga si Susan, kakausapin ko.”

Hilda is Susan Reid offcam.

OTHER FEUDS – Lino also had differences with Phillip Salvador, Christopher de Leon, Bembol Roco, Cecile Guidote Alvarez, Manay Ichu Maceda, Armida Siguion Reyna, and the late Jay Ilagan, Dandy Nadres, Mario O’Hara, and Doña Miling Blas. But in time he’d reconcile with them, saying with a big laugh, “Di na ako basagulera. Di na ako si Bella Flores, Gloria Romero na ang image ko.”

Well, those are Brocka’s small battles, in a manner of speaking.

UNFORGIVING – But where his big battles were concerned, Lino Brocka was unforgiving.

On his “hate list” were Tito Manoling (Morato), the late President Ferdinand Marcos and former First Lady Imelda Romualdez Marcos, former President and incumbent Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada.

WINNERS – Highspeed contributor Mel Caparas gives updates on the latest pageant winners.

Jewel of the World – Neena Bezuidenhout (South Africa).

Mr. Universe Tourism 2018 – Ion Perez (Philippines).

(Jewel of the World and Mr. Universe Tourism are international pageants held in Manila.)

Mrs. Worldwide Philippines 2018 – Ma. Ervick Bermudez. Other title holders: Je-An Santiago, Mary Kimberly Cagape, Abigail Rabie, Adrienne Martinez.

Ginoong Calabarzon – Ricky Gumera.

Mr. & Miss Biñan 2018 – Brian Scott Lomboy and Stephanie Danielle Yap.